Broadchurch

Ah, the fall television season. One of my favorite times of year. Scanning through the entertainment articles for new pilots to look out for, I noticed Gracepoint, the American counterpart of Broadchurch, the murder mystery starring the 10th doctor himself, David Tennant.

Now, being the angliophile that I am, I had every intention to watch Broadchurch before the American version. But life, unintentional marathons of The Office reruns, actually being social every once in a while, and spontaneous and uncontrollable naps got in the way. Until, that is, I had an iTunes gift card to spend a few spare hours post taking a graduate school entrance exam. And thus, I began my journey into Broadchurch.

I KNOW IF THE KILLER IS OR IS NOT IN THIS PICTURE AND IT IS TAKING MUCH SELF-CONTROL TO NOT SPOIL IT (photo from BBC America)

I KNOW IF THE KILLER IS OR IS NOT IN THIS PICTURE AND IT IS TAKING MUCH SELF-CONTROL TO NOT SPOIL IT (photo from BBC America)

and OH MY GOODNESS what a journey it has been. After the first episode…I was hooked. If Tennant’s broody, Scottish, permanent 5-o’clock shadow-sporting detective Alec Hardy isn’t incentive enough, the other characters will get you hooked. With a cast full of other recognizable British actors-Rory from Doctor Who/Once on Broadway actor Arthur Darvill, Filch from Harry Potter-among them, the show is dark, mysterious, and and excellently executed “Who dunnit?” But beyond intending to catch the killer of an 11-year-old boy in the small seaside town, it’s a character study. Every time you think you know who the killer is, it turns out to be a red herring.

Granted, I made the mistake of going on the Wikipedia page to look up some of the actors’ name. DO NOT GO ON WIKIPEDIA. IN FACT, DO NOT RESEARCH ANYTHING RELATING TO THE SERIES UNLESS YOU HAVE FINISHED. Right there, next to one of the cast names WAS THE KILLER. WHY OH WHY.

At this point, I was halfway and had just finished episode 4. I was so intrigued by the ending and needed to know the nitty gritty details of the killer’s plot, that I just jumped to the end and watched the finale. IT WAS CRAZY. Then, I went back and watched the rest. I’ll concede my watching experience was greatly affected by already knowing who the killer was.

*Update: Apparently I never posted this and have just found this in my drafts. But in all seriousness, I still recommend this show to other people, and cannot wait for the next series to come out.

I did not watch the U.S. version, “Gracepoint” but shall give it a chance in the future.

Leave a Reply

